ru

Vorobyovy Gory

A perfect place for walking in the forest zone, doing sports and meditation.

Neskuchny GardenMuzeon
ru

Vorobyovy Gory

Vorobyovy Gory is one of the most picturesque places in Moscow. It stands out due to its location, wonderful view to Moscow and unique flora and fauna. Vorobyovy Gory is a place with great history - first settlements were recorded here more then 2500 years ago. 

Main historical occasions happened on Vorobyovy Gory are connected with the viewing platform located nowadays nearby. On the spot of the platform starting from XV century there was Vorobyovo village. The first mention of it is recorded in 1453 when the Great Princess Sofia Vitovtovna, bride of the Prince Vasily I and mother of Vasily II bought the village from Vorobyov family. It’s considered that the name “Vorobyovy Gory” was given after its historical owners family surname - Vorobyovs. 

In the end of XV century the Vorobyov Palace located here. It became the countryside residence for Moscow dukes, Russian tzars and Emperors. 

First Romanovs descendants enjoyed being here - young Peter the Great used to battle with his “chucklesome troops”. 

Vorobyovo village located here till 1956. First students when leaving Moscow State University had to pass through it to reach the bus station. After the village was eliminated the viewing platform was created on this spot. The only building of the village left is the Church of Saint Trinity.

Vorobyovy Gory

Vorobyovy Gory is one of the most picturesque places in Moscow. It stands out due to its location, wonderful view to Moscow and unique flora and fauna. Vorobyovy Gory is a place with great history - first settlements were recorded here more then 2500 years ago. 

Main historical occasions happened on Vorobyovy Gory are connected with the viewing platform located nowadays nearby. On the spot of the platform starting from XV century there was Vorobyovo village. The first mention of it is recorded in 1453 when the Great Princess Sofia Vitovtovna, bride of the Prince Vasily I and mother of Vasily II bought the village from Vorobyov family. It’s considered that the name “Vorobyovy Gory” was given after its historical owners family surname - Vorobyovs. 

In the end of XV century the Vorobyov Palace located here. It became the countryside residence for Moscow dukes, Russian tzars and Emperors. 

First Romanovs descendants enjoyed being here - young Peter the Great used to battle with his “chucklesome troops”. 

Vorobyovo village located here till 1956. First students when leaving Moscow State University had to pass through it to reach the bus station. After the village was eliminated the viewing platform was created on this spot. The only building of the village left is the Church of Saint Trinity.

Maslenitsa: 25 & 26 of February

Maslenitsa: 25 & 26 of February

Places

Andreevsky Monastery
Trinity Church
Site of N. Ogarev’s and A. Herzen’s oath
Escalator Gallery
Luzhnetsky Metro Bridge
Andreevsky ponds
Andreevsky Ponds Arbors
Che
Prawns Cafe

1/9

Andreevsky Monastery

Monastery, endowed in 1648 by Boyar Feodor Rtishchev in honour of the victory of Russian troops in battle over Crimean Tatars at a ford outside Moscow in 1591.

Map

Site of N. Ogarev’s and A. Herzen’s oath

In 1827 young men Alexander Herzen and Nikolay Ogarev, inspired by the events of the Decembrist Revolt, swore an oath while walking up the hills of Vorob’evy Gory to fight until the end of their lives for the well-being of the people.

Map

Escalator Gallery

The gallery was built in 1959 at the same time as ‘Leninsky Gory’ (now - Vorobyovy Gory) and quickly gained popularity and love among Muscovites.

Map

Luzhnetsky Metro Bridge

Luzhnetsky Metro Bridge and Metro station ‘Leninskie Gory’ (now - Vorobyovy Gory) were opened in 1959.

Map

Andreevsky ponds

The Andreevsky ponds were dug at the same time as the Andreevsky Monastery was built.

Map
Andreevsky Monastery
Map

1/9

Andreevsky Monastery

Monastery, endowed in 1648 by Boyar Feodor Rtishchev in honour of the victory of Russian troops in battle over Crimean Tatars at a ford outside Moscow in 1591.

Site of N. Ogarev’s and A. Herzen’s oath
Map

3/9

Site of N. Ogarev’s and A. Herzen’s oath

In 1827 young men Alexander Herzen and Nikolay Ogarev, inspired by the events of the Decembrist Revolt, swore an oath while walking up the hills of Vorob’evy Gory to fight until the end of their lives for the well-being of the people.

Escalator Gallery
Map

4/9

Escalator Gallery

The gallery was built in 1959 at the same time as ‘Leninsky Gory’ (now - Vorobyovy Gory) and quickly gained popularity and love among Muscovites.

Luzhnetsky Metro Bridge
Map

5/9

Luzhnetsky Metro Bridge

Luzhnetsky Metro Bridge and Metro station ‘Leninskie Gory’ (now - Vorobyovy Gory) were opened in 1959.

Andreevsky ponds
Map

6/9

Andreevsky ponds

The Andreevsky ponds were dug at the same time as the Andreevsky Monastery was built.

Multimedia